The fifth annual meeting of the Young Academy of Europe will take place on 19/20 September 2016 in Oxford, UK.
The full program is also available for download here (PDF; 612 kB).


The YAE meeting will be held at Corpus Christi College in Oxford:

Merton Street
Oxford OX1 4JF
ccc_ox_1280 corpus_christi_2_1280


Participation to the YAE Annual Meeting is open to current members of the YAE, to current members of the AE, as well as to other participants by invitation.

There will be a 80 EUR meeting fee for all participants. Please transfer the amount of 120 EUR (incl. annual membership fee) or 80 EUR (annual meeting fee only) to the bank account below. If you are located outside the Euro area, please make sure that you (the payer) cover all bank fees. Payment by Paypal is available; please contact the YAE Treasurer for details.

Account holder: FV Young Academy of Europe e.V.
IBAN: DE23830654080004876792
Bank: VR-Bank Altenburger Land
Markt 10, 04600 Altenburg, Germany

A surcharge of 20 EUR will be applied to cash payments made on site at the meeting.


Monday 19 September 2016
12:00-13:00 Registration and light lunch
13:00-14:00 Plenary session: YAE affairs (chairs: Nicole Grobert, Sven Bestmann)
14:00-15:00 YAE scientific session (chair: Christian Doeller)
Shaul Shalvi (SH): At the roots of corruption: a behavioral ethics approach
Alexandre Antonelli (LS): The evolution and roots of biodiversity
Daniela Schmidt (PE): The other half of the CO2 problem – with the eyes of a geologist
15:00-16:00 Tea/coffee break
16:00-17:00 Keynote: Sofie Vanthournout, Director, Sense about Science EU (chair: Andre Mischke)
17:00-18:30 Panel discussion: Open Science and Open Access – Losses or Opportunities? (chairs: Lynn Kamerlin, Christian Keysers)
Jane Winters, London School of Advanced Study
Joris van Zundert, Huygens Institute, The Hague
Sofie Vanthournout, Sense about Science, Brussels
Representatives from the publishing world (tba)
18:30-19:45 Drinks and break
19:45-21:00 College dinner
21:00- Night tour of Oxford
Tuesday 20 September 2016
09:30-10:30 Election of Board members (chair: Hagit Amirav)
10:30-11:30 YAE scientific session (chair: Alban Kellerbauer)
Karin Roelofs (LS): How do we control our emotions?
Yan Lavallée: (PE): Advancing magma science for hazard mitigation and geothermal energy production
Silvia Pellicer (SH): Women in transition: Transnational times, transnational feminisms and the liberating power of art
11:30-11:45 Tea/coffee break
11:30-12:30 Poster sessions
12:30-13:30 Keynote: Sierd Cloetingh, President of the Academia Europaea (chair: Nicole Grobert)
13:00-13:45 Summary – Close (chair: Nicole Grobert)